SIGH-reens. 

  
I’ll tell you what really irks me lately, it’s police cars and the abusive relationship they have with their sirens. I’m pretty sure any Ghanaian living in Accra is not oblivious to the power of the sirens on the police car. (Well if you are then you too your face like a ‘distin’ because how could you not?). That thing comes on and all cars start to perform magic in the name of making way for the obviously important police vehicle because the police is ‘working’. See, every now and then the mother is ever so generous to allow me to use her car for a couple of rounds and I must say, even more stressful than  Ghanaian parents and the bi-polar vodafone internet is the godawful stress of making way for a police vehicle in ‘bumber-to-bumper’ traffic. The feeling I get when I hear those sirens in traffic rivals the irritation I feel when I microwave food for what seems like eternity and it’s still ice cold in the centre (and of course you only find this out once you’ve started eating ). One minute you’re impatiently waiting for the traffic light to turn green and in the next you have become Tom Cruise, doing the most to allow a police man get to his destination before you get to yours. Thing is, the police are the main law enforcement agency in the country and they (just like the President) cannot afford to be late anywhere (yes, that includes, chop bars, filling stations, church, bars and their homes) so whenever there is a traffic jam, they get the sole privilege of turning on those sirens and pull a ‘Moses and the red sea’ with the cars on the road. Quite often than most I am simply bothered by the fact that there isn’t any manouevering space which causes me to get real paranoid about scratching my mother’s vehicle because I cannot even buy a tyre. I doubt any of these policemen would be bothered if they scratched your car, they’d probably comment (very loudly) on the state of your mental faculties and be on their way because you’re a common member of society, the car you drive was not given to you by the government  and you cannot successfully extort money from random citizens. I don’t even know if it can be helped but it’s bloody annoying and I’m not here for it, at all. 

Leave a comment